Car repair shops are invited to take the project to a wider audience

More than 50 participantsaccepted the invitation of the Car Repair 4.0 consortium to its first virtual information event. Focus: The presentation of the eight consortium partners and their shared goals as well as cooperation opportunities for small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs).  

Car Repair 4.0 Gaia-X

By Ralf Schädel, IT Editor and Project Manager Cloud Services and Gaia-X at eco – Association of the Internet Industry

Moderator Dr. Jan Hendrik Schoenke from LMIS AG got straight to the point after briefly welcoming the more than 50 participants to the first public information event of the Car Repair 4.0 funding project: “We can expect three hours of exciting content today.” In addition to an introduction of each consortium partner and their role within the project, event attendees could look forward to a detailed project presentation with opportunities for collaboration as well as a “Question & Answer” session.

The eight consortium partners in focus

The round of presentations was opened by the measurement hardware supplier Auto Intern, followed by the certification specialist Dekra Digital, the leading and business-oriented research institution of the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), eco– Association of the Internet Industry, the research-intensive Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences, LMIS as the consortium leader and Gaia-X member, the research experts in human- and data-driven process design at the Georg Agricola University of Applied Sciences (THGA), and last but not least, the tire and car service experts at Vergölst.

Gaia-X arouses great interest

The participants were interested in the use of Explainable AI (XAI) mentioned in the presentations and the benefits that this methodology offers to users. Schoenke: “We don’t want to create dependencies, but rather transport attitudes and values as with Gaia-X and a digital sovereignty with Car Repair 4.0.” The consortium wants to advance digitalisation and make AI more widespread, but AI should not lead to a child-like dependence on the technology. Therefore, AI must be explainable on different levels.

Gaia-X’s influence on Car Repair 4.0

The audience also wanted to learn more about the implementation of Gaia-X Federation Services (GXFS): For example, to what extent the Eclipse DataSpace Connector (EDC) data transfer component is used in the Car Repair 4.0 project. According to Schoenke, this is a question that has preoccupied the project since the start of the funding competition: “Gaia-X offers different technologies that are being discussed or, in some cases, are already in place. For the course of our project, it’s an advantage that these technologies are already under development,” he says. However, the project manager was reluctant to reveal which technologies would ultimately drive Car Repair 4.0 forward at this stage and to anticipate possible results. The most important goal: Information-level interoperability to connect different data spaces and achieve scalable effects of digitalisation.

Numerous participants are key

More information was needed by the associated partners on the importance of the visibility of Car Repair 4.0 and the contributing car repair shops: For Schoenke, this is a clear-cut case: “The more support the flagship project gets, the easier it will be to collect the data. The AI that is being developed and the diagnostics built on it will be correspondingly better.” The broad impact and scaling that is to be achieved together with the THGA is precisely the reason why all interested car repair shops are cordially invited to join the project! Even if more than the 200 diagnostic devices currently available were needed, there is a plan for such an eventuality.

Cooperation possibilities and contact persons

There is also a plan for networking the project: A partner management team consisting of the contact persons Juan Hahn (Hahn Network) for the automotive sector, Hauke Timmermann (eco) for the IT sector and Yannick Bartholomäus (LMIS) for project networking is available to interested parties from the automotive sector, AI developers, measurement system manufacturers and IT service providers.

Did you like this article? Then subscribe to our Newsletter and receive regular updates on similar topics and on the car repair project, and discuss this and similar exciting topics with us in our LinkedIn group.

Share on

Werkstätten sind eingeladen, das Projekt in die Breite zu tragen

Mehr als 50 Teilnehmer:innen waren der Einladung des Konsortiums des Projekts Autowerkstatt 4.0 zur ersten virtuellen Informationsveranstaltung gefolgt. Im Fokus: Die Vorstellung der acht Konsortialpartner und deren gemeinsame Ziele sowie Kooperationsmöglichkeiten für kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen (KMU).

Werkstätten sind eingeladen, das Projekt in die Breite zu tragen

Von Ralf Schädel, IT-Redakteur und Projektmanager Cloud Services und Gaia-X bei eco – Verband der Internetwirtschaft e.V.

Moderator Dr. Jan Hendrik Schoenke von der LMIS AG kam nach einer kurzen Begrüßung der mehr als 50 Teilnehmer:innen zur ersten öffentlichen Informationsveranstaltung des Förderprojekts Autowerkstatt 4.0 (AW 4.0) gleich zum Punkt: „Uns erwarten heute drei Stunden voller spannender Inhalte.“ Neben einer Vorstellung der einzelnen Konsortialpartner und deren Rolle innerhalb des Projekts, konnten sich die Veranstaltungsteilnehmer:innen auf eine detaillierte Projektvorstellung mit den Möglichkeiten einer Zusammenarbeit sowie eine „Question & Answer“-Session freuen.

Die acht Konsortialpartner im Fokus

Die Vorstellungsrunde eröffnete der Mess-Hardware-Lieferant Auto Intern, es folgten der Zertifizierungsspezialist Dekra Digital, die führende und wirtschaftsnahe Forschungseinrichtung des Deutschen Forschungszentrums für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI), der eco Verband der Internetwirtschaft, die forschungsstarke Hochschule Osnabrück, die LMIS als Konsortialführer und Gaia-X-Mitglied, die Forschungsexpert:innen in Sachen human- und datengetriebener Prozessgestaltung der Technischen Hochschule Georg Agricola (THGA) und last but not least die Reifen- und Autoservice-Fachleute von Vergölst.

Gaia-X weckt großes Interesse

Auf Interesse stieß bei den Teilnehmer:innen der in den Vorträgen erwähnte Einsatz von Explainable AI (XAI) und der Vorteil, der sich aus dieser Methodik für Anwender:innen ergibt.Schoenke: „Wir wollen keine Abhängigkeiten schaffen, sondern Haltung und Werte wie bei Gaia-X und einer digitalen Souveränität mit Autowerkstatt 4.0 transportieren.“ Das Konsortium wolle die Digitalisierung zwar voranbringen und KI in die Breite tragen – KI dürfe aber nicht dazu führen, unmündig zu werden. Daher muss KI auf verschiedenen Ebenen erklärbar sein.

Einfluss von Gaia-X auf AW 4.0

Auch über die Implementierung von Gaia-X Federation Services (GXFS) wollten die Zuhörer:innen mehr erfahren: Inwieweit beispielweise die Datentransferkomponente Eclipse DataSpace Connector (EDC) im Projekt AW4.0 verwendet wird. Eine Frage, die das Projekt nach Schoenke schon seit Auftakt des Förderwettbewerbs beschäftigt: „Gaia-X bietet unterschiedliche Technologien, die diskutiert werden oder teils schon vorhanden sind. Für unseren Projektverlauf ist es von Vorteil, dass diese Technologien schon auf den Weg gebracht sind.“ Welche Technologien AW 4.0 letztlich weiterbringen, wollte der Projektverantwortliche aber zu diesem Zeitpunkt ungern preisgeben und mögliche Ergebnisse vorwegnehmen. Das wichtigste Ziel: Die Interoperabilität auf Informationsebene, um verschiedene Datenräume miteinander zu verbinden und skalierbare Effekte der Digitalisierung zu erzielen.

Viele Teilnehmer:innen sind das A und O

Mehr Informationen benötigten die assoziierten Partner über die Bedeutung der Außenwirkung von AW 4.0 und der mitwirkenden Werkstätten: Für Schoenke ein eindeutiger Fall: „Je mehr Unterstützung das Leuchtturmprojekt bekommt, desto einfacher wird es sein, die Daten zu sammeln. Entsprechend besser wird die entwickelte KI und die darauf aufgebaute Diagnose.“ Genau die Breitenwirkung und Skalierung, die gemeinsam mit der THGA erzielt werden soll, sei der Grund dafür, dass alle interessierten Werkstätten herzlich eingeladen sind, mitzumachen! Selbst, wenn mehr als die 200 zur Verfügung stehenden Diagnosegeräte erforderlich seien, gäbe es einen Plan.

Kooperationsmöglichkeiten und Ansprechpartner:innen

Der existiert auch für die Vernetzung: Ein Partnermanagement bestehend aus den Kontaktpersonen Juan Hahn (Hahn Network) für die Automotive Branche, Hauke Timmermann (eco) für IT-Branche und Yannick Bartholomäus (LMIS) für die Projektvernetzung steht Interessierten aus dem Automotive-Bereich, KI-Entwicklern, Messsystemherstellern und IT-Dienstleistern zur Verfügung.

Share on