AI-supported
error diagnosis
for motor vehicles

The Car Repair 4.0 project, funded by the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Climate Protection (BMWK), is researching differentiated error diagnosis for vehicles based on machine learning. In this process, oscilloscope data is recorded in the engine room

and made available on a platform for improving diagnostic procedures.

The innovation and value creation network has set itself the goal of strengthening the competitiveness of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). Car Repair 4.0 is connected at the international level through the federated data infrastructure Gaia-X and thus contributes to more digital sovereignty for the sector.

Car Repair 4.0 offers opportunities for …

…car repair shops that want to participate in the project and benefit from its advantages:

  • differentiated error diagnosis
  • less consumption of resources
  • more customer satisfaction with service

Learn here how your car repair shop can collaborate and participate in the success of the initiative.

 

…measurement system providers who want to actively shape AI during service:

  • AI diagnosis as an extended offer
  • stronger market position as an AI provider
  • innovation drivers of AI processes and services

Learn here how Car Repair 4.0 can turn your company into a renowned AI specialist.

…IT service providers that can exploit the potential of AI in a strong alliance:

  • Valid training data without own sourcing
  • more than 5,000 independent car repair shops
  • help shape AI processes, services and models

Learn here how your company can make a name for itself in research and development.

The project: From the idea to a blueprint for the future

YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube’s privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Video in German Language

The success story of the Car Repair 4.0 project continues. In September 2018, a consortium of companies and scientists led by eco – Association of the Internet Industry set out to shape the future of car repair shops. Initially funded by the German state of North Rhine-Westphalia and the European Union, the first step of the project was to develop a demonstrator system that enables machine learning-supported control chain diagnostics.

With the continuation of Car Repair 4.0, digitalisation in car repair shops is to advance further over the next three years. The background to the research approach is that fault diagnosis in vehicles today still mostly takes place via proprietary diagnostic systems using the On-Board Diagnostics (OBD) interface. However, error codes, so-called Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTC), do not refer to the cause of an error but only to the parts recommended by the system for replacement. 

OBD

Car Repair 4.0 aims to use oscilloscopes to record data in the engine compartment to realise more differentiated diagnosesavoid unnecessary repairs and thus conserve resources in line with the principles of sustainable maintenance. The data-based diagnostic system is also to be made available for older vehicles and will be easy to integrate into the everyday work of car repair shops. Industry-specific data and AI models will be provided on a platform for trusted exchange.

The innovation and value creation network of car repair shops, measurement system providers and AI startups, which is characterised by small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), is connected through Gaia-X. Federated services anchored in the Gaia-X infrastructure are intended to enable the heterogeneous participants in the vehicle service market to compete fairly with new digital business models. A resulting Gaia-X service ecosystem is predestined to counteract the shortage of skilled workers in Germany and make German SMEs competitive in the long term.

Project partners

Consortium partners

Auto Intern Logo
Eco Logo
DEKRA Logo
DFKI Logo
Hochschule Osnabrück Logo
LMIS Logo
PROLAB Logo
THGA Logo
Vergölst Logo

Associated partners

BBE Automotive Logo
Behrens Logo
BSSA Logo
Driver Logo
EFS Logo
GRS Logo
Hahn Network Logo
IDK Logo
Ionos Logo
IT-Tecture Logo
KFZ Innung Schwaben Logo
Microsoft Logo
Mister ATZ Logo
MMMint Logo
PointS Logo
Zukunftswerkstatt Logo
kaitos
MainWerkstatt

KI-gestützte
Fehlerdiagnose
bei Kfz

Das vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz geförderte Projekt Autowerkstatt 4.0 erforscht die differenzierte und auf maschinellem Lernen basierende Fehlerdiagnose bei Fahrzeugen. Dabei werden Oszilloskop-Daten im Motorraum

auf einer Plattform zur Verbesserung von Diagnoseverfahren bereitgestellt.

Das Innovations- und Wertschöpfungsnetzwerk hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Mittelstandes zu stärken. Dafür ist AW 4.0 auf internationaler Ebene durch GAIA-X vernetzt. Es leistet somit einen Beitrag für mehr digitale Souveränität.

AUTOWERKSTATT 4.0 bietet Chancen für …

…Werkstätten, die am Projekt teilnehmen und von seinen Vorteilen profitieren möchten:

  • differenzierte Kfz-Fehlerdiagnose
  • weniger Verbrauch von Ressourcen
  • mehr Kundenzufriedenheit beim Service

Erfahren Sie hier, wie Ihre Werkstatt am Erfolg der Initiative mitarbeiten und teilhaben kann.
 

…Messsystemhersteller, die KI im Werkstattservice aktiv mitgestalten wollen:

  • KI-Diagnose als erweitertes Angebot
  • stärkere Marktposition als KI-Anbieter
  • Innovationstreiber von KI-Prozessen und -Services

Erfahren Sie hier, wie Ihr Unternehmen durch AW 4.0 zum renommierten KI-Spezialisten wird.

…IT-Dienstleister, die in einem starken Verbund das Potenzial von KI ausschöpfen können:

  • Valide Trainingsdaten ohne eigene Erhebung
  • mehr als 5.000 freie Werkstätten
  • KI-Prozesse, -Services,
    -Modelle mitgestalten

Erfahren Sie hier, wie sich Ihr Unternehmen in Forschung und Entwicklung einen Namen macht.
 

Das Projekt: Von der Idee bis zum Zukunftsmodell

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Die Erfolgsgeschichte des Projektes Autowerkstatt 4.0 (AW4.0) setzt sich fort. Im September 2018 war das Konsortium von Unternehmen und Wissenschaftlern unter der Leitung des eco – Verband der Internetwirtschaft e. V. angetreten, um die Zukunft der Autowerkstatt zu gestalten. Das zunächst vom Land NRW und der Europäischen Union geförderte Projekt entwickelte im ersten Schritt ein Demonstratorsystem, das eine Machine-Learning unterstützte Steuerkettendiagnose ermöglicht.

Mit der Fortsetzung von AW 4.0 soll in den nächsten drei Jahren die Digitalisierung in Kfz-Werkstätten weiter voranschreiten. Hintergrund des Forschungsansatzes ist, dass die Fehlerdiagnose in Fahrzeugen heute meist noch über proprietäre Diagnosesysteme mittels der On-Board-Diagnose (OBD) Schnittstelle stattfindet. Fehlercodes, sogenannte Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTC), verweisen allerdings nicht auf die Ursache eines Fehlers, sondern lediglich die vom System empfohlenen Teile zum Austausch.

AW 4.0 möchte mittels Oszilloskope erfasster Daten im Motorraum differenziertere Diagnosen realisieren, unnötige Reparaturen vermeiden und damit Ressourcen im Sinne einer nachhaltigen Wartung schonen. Das datenbasierte Diagnosesystem soll auch für ältere Fahrzeuge bereitstehen und einfach in den Arbeitsalltag von Kfz-Werkstätten zu integrieren sein. Bereitgestellt werden branchenspezifische Daten und KI-Modelle auf einer Plattform zum vertrauenswürdigen Austausch.

Vernetzt ist das mittelständisch geprägte Innovations- und Wertschöpfungsnetzwerk von Werkstätten, Messsystemanbietern und KI-Startups durch GAIA-X. In deren Infrastruktur verankerte Federated Services sollen den heterogenen Teilnehmern des Fahrzeugservice-Marktes einen fairen Wettbewerb mit neuen digitalen Geschäftsmodellen ermöglichen. Ein hieraus entstehendes GAIA-X Service-Ökosystem ist prädestiniert dazu, dem Fachkräftemangel in Deutschland entgegenzuwirken und den deutschen Mittelstand langfristig wettbewerbsfähig zu machen.

Projektpartner

Konsortialpartner

Auto Intern Logo
Eco Logo
DEKRA Logo
DFKI Logo
Hochschule Osnabrück Logo
LMIS Logo
PROLAB Logo
THGA Logo
Vergölst Logo

Assoziierte Partner

BBE Automotive Logo
Behrens Logo
BSSA Logo
Driver Logo
EFS Logo
GRS Logo
Hahn Network Logo
IDK Logo
Ionos Logo
IT-Tecture Logo
KFZ Innung Schwaben Logo
Microsoft Logo
Mister ATZ Logo
MMMint Logo
PointS Logo
Zukunftswerkstatt Logo